Posting in WordPress.com using Markdown

This post is obsolete since WordPress now allows to write posts with Markdown directly (in the dashboard: Settings / Writing / Check the Markdown box).
I’m leaving it for the record and MarkdownPad is still a nice tool.

I’m getting a little tired of composing my posts in HTML so I’ve downloaded MarkdownPad which enables to convert from Markdown to HTML.

I am fairly used to StackExchange websites which use Markdown so typing a post will become much quicker and easier 😉

Once the text is finalised in MarkdownPad, Tools > Preview Markdown in Browser (F6) then right click > view source in your favourite browser, copy paste the body to WordPress.com et voila.

The only caveat is that code is formatted as html code but looks better when using the [sourcecode] tag which adds nice-looking syntax highlighting. This has to be done manually.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Posting in WordPress.com using Markdown

  1. isme says:

    Thanks for the tip about MarkdownPad! Too many times I’ve blown away a carefully-crafted question on StackExchange by mistaking my browser’s back button for a backspace.

    And thanks for the tip about the tag. Until now I’ve written my posts in Windows Live Writer, which has several code-formatting plugins, but none of them have worked very well for me. http://plugins.live.com/writer/tag/code?orderby=featured&page=1

Leave a Reply

